Map Scroll Demo

Talk about programming CreatiVision (except games programming). Projects of homebrew hardware are also welcome.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mobsie
Posts: 565
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:38 am
Location: Weinheim, Germany

Map Scroll Demo

Post by Mobsie » Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:56 am

Hi,

here is a first view to my map-engine.
I only have made a little stupid map, so please don`t expect to much.

You can scroll with the joypad around.
I have no border-check at the moment because i work on another game, so when you scroll over the border you see wild chars.

I finish all my routines at the moment, some are very very old, then i begin to write some games.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
MADrigal
Site Admin
Posts: 1060
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 1:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Map Scroll Demo

Post by MADrigal » Fri Apr 12, 2013 11:35 am

It would be nice to also have the source code :)
User avatar
Mobsie
Posts: 565
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:38 am
Location: Weinheim, Germany

Re: Map Scroll Demo

Post by Mobsie » Fri Apr 12, 2013 11:39 am

yes, soon i upload a new version with source code.
User avatar
carlsson
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:39 am
Location: Västerås, Sweden

Re: Map Scroll Demo

Post by carlsson » Mon Apr 22, 2013 5:28 pm

It looks good!
User avatar
Mobsie
Posts: 565
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:38 am
Location: Weinheim, Germany

Re: Map Scroll Demo

Post by Mobsie » Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:17 am

Thank you Carlsson,

is just the beginning, and i am a little bit slow after 20! years without 6502.

But i work on some interesting (i hope) stuff.
User avatar
carlsson
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:39 am
Location: Västerås, Sweden

Re: Map Scroll Demo

Post by carlsson » Thu May 09, 2013 3:17 pm

I'm sorry to say the demo doesn't display 100% on my unit. Remember the same type of EPROM, same Diagnosticart and same Creativision unit was earlier today tested working fine with original VTech software, but somehow having issues with homebrew so far.

This one was mostly OK, only a few pixels missing:
Image

Here are four stages of errors, occuring after each time I press the reset button:
Image
User avatar
Mobsie
Posts: 565
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:38 am
Location: Weinheim, Germany

Re: Map Scroll Demo

Post by Mobsie » Thu May 09, 2013 4:03 pm

thank you for the test.
then we must check 2 points:

1 what exact do the CV at the startup?
2 what to the CV when we press reset?

we don`t handle, i do not, the reset button.

I use the same sort of programming on other hardware with TMS, and all is fine on real hardware.
User avatar
Mobsie
Posts: 565
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:38 am
Location: Weinheim, Germany

Re: Map Scroll Demo

Post by Mobsie » Thu May 09, 2013 4:14 pm

i think is the screen active bit.
When i start the map-demo i begin to copy all to the VDP, like Kurt.

But i don`t set screen OFF, so maybe i lose some pixel.

And then after every reset, the software start again and do the copy again.
But now the TMS has more to do because the demo is running, and so this time we lose more at the copy.

Maybe try with set the screen to off at the init, like Kurt.

I can`t test because i have no epromer, but you with your game can.

The errors in my map-demo comes when you reset, not when you scroll. and i copy only again when you scroll. So it must happen at the initial VDP copy.

Sorry for my strange english!
User avatar
MADrigal
Site Admin
Posts: 1060
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 1:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Map Scroll Demo

Post by MADrigal » Sat May 25, 2013 9:31 am

Just a quick update.

I'm testing Mobsie's demos on a daily basis, and the demo is slowly becoming a GREAT videogame. I would bet a million euros that it'll be by far the most beautiful CV game around! :-)

Let's support him! :-)
Post Reply