Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Post Reply
User avatar
carlsson
Posts: 507
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:39 am
Location: Västerås, Sweden

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Post by carlsson » Thu Dec 19, 2013 9:54 pm

Ok, then I understand. I suppose if I look up the ROM location of the graphics, I could simply PEEK from BASIC to find out if there are definitions or just blank.
User avatar
carlsson
Posts: 507
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:39 am
Location: Västerås, Sweden

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Post by carlsson » Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:53 pm

Well, this ugly little program was all that I needed:

Code: Select all

5 GR:COLOR=15,1:X=8:Y=0:R=0
10 FOR A=63488 TO 63999:B=PEEK(A):FOR I=7 TO 0 STEP -1
20 C=B/2:IF C<>INT(C) THEN PLOT X+I,Y+R
30 B=INT(C):NEXT
40 R=R+1:IF R=0 THEN R=0:X=X+9
50 IF X>240 THEN X=8:Y=Y+9
60 NEXT
The COLOR= statement is required after going into graphics mode, otherwise it will plot 8x1 wide fields instead of individual pixels.

This is what it plots on screen:
rom-font-2001.jpg
As you see from the listing, I made sure to separate each character with an extra pixel to be sure, that is why the CreatiVision logo looks particularly broken apart but of course it isn't stored in that way in the ROM. You also notice that Laser 2001 BASIC lacks bitwise AND/OR which is why I had to resort with division and INT, could perhaps have been improved a bit but it did the job.

It probably means the BIOS ROM routine to display the font was modified in the Laser 2001 to not display the logo, but it still is there. It also means that homebrew that reads the characters from ROM but uses an own routine to display the logo and year, will be able to display it on both types of machines... does not the Rameses also omit the logo on power on? Then there is the philosophical question of which way is the right one to do it... :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
@username@
Posts: 320
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:59 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Post by @username@ » Thu Dec 19, 2013 11:50 pm

The BIOS routine uses the characters at ROM location $F871. These are set to spaces ($C0) in the non-logo ROM. Perhaps the same in the Laser 2001?
In the CV they are $DD $DE $DF $E0 $FB $FC $FD $FE.
User avatar
carlsson
Posts: 507
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:39 am
Location: Västerås, Sweden

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Post by carlsson » Fri Dec 20, 2013 7:42 am

I might check the actual routine to display the logo tonight, if it is zero'ed out. At least the graphic definitions themselves are there, as shown by my program which dumped the ROM content from $F800 to $F9FF.
User avatar
MADrigal
Site Admin
Posts: 1189
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 1:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Post by MADrigal » Fri Dec 20, 2013 8:54 am

Well I think the guys at VTech simply embedded the "most recent cv BIOS" into the Laser 2001.

And by those times, the most recent one was that of Rameses/Funvision, in which the logo was blanked.

Obviously it was easier to blank 8 bytes (the logo chars) instead of 64 bytes (the charset bytes)
User avatar
@username@
Posts: 320
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:59 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Post by @username@ » Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:40 pm

Does the Laser/Salora have a centronics output?
User avatar
Scouter3d
Posts: 646
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:02 am
Location: Wien
Contact:

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Post by Scouter3d » Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:30 am

Hi @username@,

Yes, the Salora Manager / Laser 2001 has a centronics Printer port...

Greetings TOM:0)
User avatar
Mobsie
Posts: 708
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:38 am
Location: Weinheim, Germany

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Post by Mobsie » Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:07 am

Today i opened my Salora Manager, and it really strange. Tom write me about that, but i want to see myself. I closed, i cannot help here.
User avatar
Scouter3d
Posts: 646
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:02 am
Location: Wien
Contact:

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Post by Scouter3d » Mon Jan 13, 2014 4:47 pm

Today i wrote a little Mandelbrot program for the Salora Manager,

The Graphics starts to get "pretty" and nearly at the finish the Salora produces an "Overflow" Error... Any ideas?

TOM:0
mandelbrot_2.jpg
mandelbrot.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
carlsson
Posts: 507
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:39 am
Location: Västerås, Sweden

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Post by carlsson » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:58 pm

Not sure. I ran your program in C64 Basic and instead of PLOT, I printed the numbers to file to see if anything strange happens. The X values range from 1 to 122, the Y values range from 50 to 150. Since you get overflow, it sounds like a math error. If I get the time, I can check tomorrow evening, and see what the values are when it fails. Perhaps some superfluous parenthesis will help?
Post Reply