Page 10 of 11

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Posted: Tue May 12, 2015 6:29 am
by Cosmoz
I am not capable making an AT or ATX to be used with Salora.. not my cup of tea. I can replace caps if needed but power supplies, no.

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Posted: Tue May 12, 2015 6:34 am
by MADrigal
All you have to do is buying a ATX or AT power supply, read the label on it (explaining the voltages) and then connect the wires to the "DIN" plug.

If you have an old "DIN" plug (for example from a broken Commodore 64 power supply), you can use it and oin the wires to the ATX, so that you won't even need a solderer :-)

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Posted: Tue May 12, 2015 9:42 am
by Scouter3d
Here is a Picture of how i have connected my Salora Manager to an AT PSU ...

+5V, +12V, GND from one peripheral plug
-5V from the Motherboard plug

Greetings TOM:0)
salora_at_psu.jpg

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Posted: Wed May 13, 2015 2:32 pm
by carlsson
Another user at a different forum also is in the process to wire up his Manager. He is planning to use a laptop PSU that has the required voltages.

Can you produce -5V from a +5V line? In that case, one could use a cheap 5+12V supply from China and then another circuit to get the -5V before feeding it to the DIN.

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Posted: Mon May 18, 2015 4:30 am
by Cosmoz
Like said, i am not confortable (nor experienced) making/hacking an PSU :)

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 9:19 pm
by carlsson
Elfa is now having a sale on power supplies, web orders only. This little darling specified at 5V DC @ 7A, 12V DC @ 3.2A plus -5V DC @ 0.7A, more than enough to power a Laser 2001 or Manager, only costs 43 SEK including VAT (5.13 USD) + shipping, which though might be expensive.

https://www.elfa.se/elfa3~se_sv/elfa/in ... =69-947-42

Of course if you have a spare AT power supply in your neighbourhood and a friend who can modify it according to directions, it might be even cheaper but at 12.7 x 7.6 x 4.2 cm and 250 gram (not counting the enclosure you'll need to make), it is smaller and lighter than most PC AT supplies.

They may have other models too, like only 5V DC @ 8A, but after a brief look in the transformer section I didn't find anything particularly interesting for us. Anyway, I think I'll get one or two of the above for various usages.

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:22 am
by MADrigal
Wow that's wonderful news! Thanks for hinting it and sharing the info with us.

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 1:56 pm
by MADrigal
I finally got a working setup with Salora Manager + PSU + floppy disk drive + PSU + disk drive controller.

The computer and floppy disk drive PSUs are different. Same casing, same stickers, same plugs but... on the floppy disk drive one there is a sticker reading "FOR DISK DRIVE ONLY".

When the disk drive is connected and you switch the computer ON, an additional text appears on screen, reading "LASER DOS V1.0".

The DIR command works just like the MS-DOS one.

Unfortunately I have a blank floppy diskette only, so I can't test any programs from disk.

I would like to save a file onto the floppy, but I have no clue what commands to use.

Anyone has a clue?

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:12 pm
by MADrigal
Got it! Just a couple of quick attempts and it seems that the following commands work

FORMAT
SAVE"FILENAME"

Both my floppy disk drives seem not to work properly - or maybe the diskette is faulty. Whatever I do but DIR, prompts "DISK I/O ERROR"

Any hints?

Re: Laser 2001 & Salora Manager - official thread

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 3:36 pm
by carlsson
Are you using the right kind of floppy disk? I presume this is a double density unit, either single or double sided, so stay away from any 1.2 MB HD floppy disks you might have left over from a previous PC or so. What happens when you do DIR, do you get any output or just a READY statement?

I suppose the floppy drive controller maps itself into some memory slot, so possibly one could dump it one way or another, or at least read its contents to figure out valid commands.